Tuesday, January 22, 2019
Breaking News
Win $3,300 On National Cheeseburger Day?! Posted 1 year 4 months ago
Lipstick On A Pig: Everglades SB10 Stinks Posted 1 year 11 months ago
Be Santa To A Senior This Holiday Season Posted 2 years 1 month ago
Septic Is Ruining Our State Posted 2 years 2 months ago
Stardustlounge Is Going Downhill Posted 2 years 3 months ago
Central Florida's Best Political Reporters Posted 2 years 3 months ago
Dropoff Expands Same-Day Delivery To Orlando Posted 2 years 3 months ago
How 9/11 Reshaped My Generation Posted 2 years 4 months ago
LGBT Group Embraces Guns After Orlando Posted 2 years 4 months ago
Hulaween 2016 Lineup: So Good It's Spooky! Posted 2 years 5 months ago
Apartment Living Near Lake Nona Posted 2 years 7 months ago
The Bell Tolls For Teresa Jacobs Posted 4 years 12 months ago
5 Reasons To Buy Fiesta Bowl Tix From UCF Posted 5 years 1 month ago
Con Artist; Mom & Doc Knew Best Posted 5 years 1 month ago
Pantless Pervert Terrorizes UCF Campus Posted 5 years 1 month ago
Sheriff Grady Judd's Dirty Laundry Posted 5 years 1 month ago
Obama Homeless Czar Visits Central Florida Posted 5 years 2 months ago
I <3 Radio? Nope, iHateRadio Posted 5 years 2 months ago
Post Divorce' Soiree Posted 5 years 2 months ago
What's What With What'sit Records Posted 5 years 2 months ago
Grayson Opponent Launches #GGG Moneybomb Posted 5 years 3 months ago
RICK SCOTT INCHES AHEAD Posted 5 years 3 months ago
Local Actress Croix Provence Flourishes Posted 5 years 3 months ago
"Dark Horse" Candidate Enters District 4 Race Posted 5 years 3 months ago
Orlando's Biggest Yard Sale Posted 5 years 3 months ago
Scott Chief Of Staff Approved Gator Hunt Posted 5 years 3 months ago
Stepping Up Your Game Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Giveaway Contest - New Resume, New Career Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Airport Politics - Will Hypocrisy Prevail? Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Event Plug - Avalon Ladies Night Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Life With MS - Dr. Mark Cascione Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Local Focus - Ready INC Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Best Of Orlando 2013.....So Far Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Why I Loved Miley Cyrus's VMA Performance Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Lobby Filing Raises Questions Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Marketing Tips From A 10 Year Old Posted 5 years 5 months ago
What The People Want - Sela Dors Posted 5 years 5 months ago
What's What - Downtown Orlando Fashion Week Posted 5 years 5 months ago
SHOUT OUT - Bimini SuperFast Posted 5 years 5 months ago
Just A Minute, Mr. Morgan Posted 5 years 5 months ago
Lost Sales Leads - 4 Common Problems Posted 5 years 6 months ago
New Book Reveals Ford In JFK Cover Up Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Orlando To Limit Food Truck Operations Posted 5 years 7 months ago
First 4 Steps In Starting A Workout Posted 5 years 7 months ago
"The Room" - Christopher Lee Posted 5 years 7 months ago
East Orlando Moms RUN This Town Posted 5 years 7 months ago
"42" Is More Than A Sports Story Posted 5 years 7 months ago
The Post Reviews "The Purge" Posted 5 years 7 months ago
The Post Reviews "After Earth" Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Got Issues? Maybe You Need A Life Coach Posted 5 years 7 months ago
So How Good Was The Postal Service? Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Tropical Update - Tropical Storm Andrea Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Hurricane Guide #1 - Before The Storm Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Tropical Update #1 - Something To Watch Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Shane's Music Run Down Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Tips For Your Small Business Website Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Our Take: Pioneers Western Kitchen Posted 5 years 7 months ago
The DL On Facebook's "Edgerank" System Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Lessons From My Favorite Neighbor Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Summer Camps 2013 - Gusso Golf Academy Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "Star Trek Into Darkness" Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "Disconnect" Posted 5 years 8 months ago
A Letter From Mom On Love & 2nd Amendment Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Summer Camp Guide 2013 Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "Oblivion" Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Bright Side Of Sunscreen Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Summer Camps 2013 - MBS Training Club Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Weekly Baking Tip - Continuity Is Key Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Killers: Battle Born Tour Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Green Smoothie Craze Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Florida Legislature Must Be Stoned Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "Iron Man 3" Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Eight UCF Players Added To NFL Rosters Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Stone's Rules - Bribe The Maitre D' Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Our Take: Hash House A Go Go Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "42" Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "Hemlock Grove" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Tilt For Distance Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Getting Fit While Being Fat Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Secret To Aging Well Is Not So Secret Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Lenders Loosen Up On Home Loans Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Home Based Businesses Can Work Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews "The ABCs of Death" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Bong Bill Advocates Must Be High Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Local Product Selected In WNBA Draft Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Branding 101 - Repetition is Key Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Chipping Like A Pro Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Potential Bomb Scare On East Colonial BP Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Why Am I Doing This? Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Stone's Rules - Nice Guys In Politics Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Shout Out - All From Scratch Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews "Hannibal" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Massage Is More Than A Spa Treatment Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Our Take: 100 Montaditos Posted 5 years 9 months ago
"Local Power Players" - Fred Leonhardt Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews "Jurassic Park 3D" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Stone's Rules - Dark Dye In Men's Suits Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Fight Against Obesity In Orlando Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews "Evil Dead" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE: EYEING FASHION IN 20/20 Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Champions and the Power of Visualization Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews "The Call" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews G.I. Joe: Retaliation Posted 5 years 10 months ago
In NYC: Decide Our Fate Posted 5 years 10 months ago
The Stone Zone: The Rise Of Rand Posted 5 years 10 months ago
The Bilinda Butchers: Now & Then Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Our Take: Anna's Polish Resturant Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Will Florida Be The Next Marijuana State? Posted 5 years 10 months ago
There Are Women Who Cheat. I Am One Of Them Posted 5 years 10 months ago
TV Preview - Duck Dynasty Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Mental Health Basics For UCF Students Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Free Breakfast, Lunch, & Dinner at Denny's? Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Bithlo Dump Cleanup Within Sight Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Procrastination: Tools To Fight Back Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Our Take: Hot Krust Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Meditating With My Doodle Sam Posted 5 years 10 months ago
I Just Can't Say No Posted 5 years 10 months ago
How To Write A Resume Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Spring Break Jams 2013 Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Distressed Homeowners Able To Buy Again? Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Healthcare Basics For UCF Students Posted 5 years 10 months ago
8 Habits of Remarkably Successful People Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Once Upon A Time... Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Our Take: Burger 21 Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Healthcare & Our Future Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Tax Benefits For Homeowners Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Death Of The Mailbox Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Picking A Puppy: 10 Helpful Tips Posted 5 years 10 months ago
A Mystery Brew Called Stress Posted 5 years 10 months ago
4 Home Security Tips Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Top 10 Reasons I Decided To Become A Vegan Posted 5 years 10 months ago
GLBT Community Center: What You Need To Know Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Successful Goal Setting Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Marketing Is Everywhere Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Downtown Avalon Park Update Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Avalon Yard Sale: Update & Our Picks Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Sandy Adams To Appear on MSNBC's Hardball Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Word is..... Posted 5 years 11 months ago
March Madness, Timber Creek Style Posted 5 years 11 months ago
A New Source Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Instagram: The Removal of Mobile Intimacy Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Hand Sanitizer VS Soap Posted 5 years 11 months ago
INCORPORATION 101: What It Means To Be A City Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Use Mind Tricks to Get Your Way Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Hair Extensions Are a Wise Choice Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Is Now the Time to Buy your Dream House? Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Hypnosis: Parlor Trick or a True Therapy? Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Natural Remedies for Cold & Flu Season Posted 5 years 11 months ago
The Beacham Brings Big City Excitement Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Today’s Private Investigators Posted 5 years 11 months ago
The Post Reviews “House of Cards” Posted 5 years 11 months ago

The Post Reviews "After Earth"

 

By Jonathan Kellam

 

After Earth (2013)

Directed by M. Night Shyamalan

Rated PG-13

★★½ out of★★★★

 

Starring:

Jaden Smith – Kitai Raige

Will Smith – Cypher Raige

Sophie Okonedo – Faia Raige

 

 

For better or worse, M. Night Shyamalan has returned to the director’s chair and has delivered us the sci-fi adventure After Earth.  This is a father-son story set in the future when humans have been forced to leave Earth because everything from eagles to the weather has evolved to kill us.  The son is young, hardheaded Kitai who both idolizes and resents his warrior father, Cypher.  Their last name is Raige, which is pronounced “Rage”…yeah, okay.   Anyway, Mama Raige convinces Cypher to take Kitai to work one day.  Frankly, I can’t describe what exactly happened next, but these details aren’t important in a movie like this.  All we need to know, is something terrible happens causing the ship to be damaged and crash on Earth.  Conveniently everyone but father and son are killed in the crash, although Cypher is badly injured.  Kitai must venture alone to the other half of the ship some 100km away to activate the emergency beacon.  One the way he faces killer baboons, venomous leeches, extreme weather and even an alien.

 

 

There was a time not so long ago when M. Night Shyamalan was being hailed as the next Hitchcock.  This was after the release of his third film, The Sixth Sense, which remains one of my favorites.  His favor started to slip three films later with The Village and it was all but gone after his next release, Lady in the Water.  I stayed on the bandwagon a little longer.  I actually very much enjoyed both The Village and Lady in the Water, although admittedly they were a step down from The Sixth Sense.  Then The Happening came out and I absolutely hated it.  I hoped it was a fluke, but then came The Last Airbender, which is possibly one of the worst movies I have ever seen.  However, even after this I still held out hope.  After all, every director has a few duds.  After Earth is a big improvement over his last two ventures, but it is still largely inferior to his earlier movies. 

 

 

My biggest gripe with this movie is that it was just so clearly a vehicle for Jaden Smith.  It was actually his father, Will Smith, who was the main architect behind After Earth, not M. Night Shyamalan, who was approached by Smith to direct the film.  Apparently Will Smith intended for this to be the launch of a major franchise spawning sequels, books, comic books, and action figures, all presumably to skyrocket his son to the same status he has enjoyed.  I just don’t think it’s going to happen.  Jaden Smith isn’t a bad actor, but he has not an ounce of the charisma or presence his father has.  The second issue I had is with how misleading the advertising has been concerning the size of Will Smith’s role.  This was probably the easiest paycheck he’s ever made.

 

 

Now, it might seem that I have a very negative opinion of this movie based on my review so far.  This isn’t the case.  It earned its two and a half stars.  It’s just unfortunate that the movie had the issues it did because beyond those it was a sufficiently entertaining film with an interesting story and impressive visual effects.  I admired its thoughtful consideration as to what humans in the future might be like.  The accent the characters spoke with has been subject to ridicule from some, but I found it quite appropriate.  Our grandparents and great-grandparents spoke a little different than us, did they not?  Also the climax involving a fight with a vicious alien on top of a volcano was pretty intense.

 

 

You know how for some movies people either love it or hate it?  After Earth is kind of the opposite.  I think most people will at least find it mildly entertaining, but I don’t think very many people will consider it a great movie.  This is one that is perhaps best left to waiting for it to stream on Netflix.

 

 

 

Top