Monday, January 21, 2019
Breaking News
Win $3,300 On National Cheeseburger Day?! Posted 1 year 4 months ago
Lipstick On A Pig: Everglades SB10 Stinks Posted 1 year 11 months ago
Be Santa To A Senior This Holiday Season Posted 2 years 1 month ago
Septic Is Ruining Our State Posted 2 years 2 months ago
Stardustlounge Is Going Downhill Posted 2 years 3 months ago
Central Florida's Best Political Reporters Posted 2 years 3 months ago
Dropoff Expands Same-Day Delivery To Orlando Posted 2 years 3 months ago
How 9/11 Reshaped My Generation Posted 2 years 4 months ago
LGBT Group Embraces Guns After Orlando Posted 2 years 4 months ago
Hulaween 2016 Lineup: So Good It's Spooky! Posted 2 years 5 months ago
Apartment Living Near Lake Nona Posted 2 years 7 months ago
The Bell Tolls For Teresa Jacobs Posted 4 years 12 months ago
5 Reasons To Buy Fiesta Bowl Tix From UCF Posted 5 years 1 month ago
Con Artist; Mom & Doc Knew Best Posted 5 years 1 month ago
Pantless Pervert Terrorizes UCF Campus Posted 5 years 1 month ago
Sheriff Grady Judd's Dirty Laundry Posted 5 years 1 month ago
Obama Homeless Czar Visits Central Florida Posted 5 years 2 months ago
I <3 Radio? Nope, iHateRadio Posted 5 years 2 months ago
Post Divorce' Soiree Posted 5 years 2 months ago
What's What With What'sit Records Posted 5 years 2 months ago
Grayson Opponent Launches #GGG Moneybomb Posted 5 years 3 months ago
RICK SCOTT INCHES AHEAD Posted 5 years 3 months ago
Local Actress Croix Provence Flourishes Posted 5 years 3 months ago
"Dark Horse" Candidate Enters District 4 Race Posted 5 years 3 months ago
Orlando's Biggest Yard Sale Posted 5 years 3 months ago
Scott Chief Of Staff Approved Gator Hunt Posted 5 years 3 months ago
Stepping Up Your Game Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Giveaway Contest - New Resume, New Career Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Airport Politics - Will Hypocrisy Prevail? Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Event Plug - Avalon Ladies Night Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Life With MS - Dr. Mark Cascione Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Local Focus - Ready INC Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Best Of Orlando 2013.....So Far Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Why I Loved Miley Cyrus's VMA Performance Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Lobby Filing Raises Questions Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Marketing Tips From A 10 Year Old Posted 5 years 5 months ago
What The People Want - Sela Dors Posted 5 years 5 months ago
What's What - Downtown Orlando Fashion Week Posted 5 years 5 months ago
SHOUT OUT - Bimini SuperFast Posted 5 years 5 months ago
Just A Minute, Mr. Morgan Posted 5 years 5 months ago
Lost Sales Leads - 4 Common Problems Posted 5 years 6 months ago
New Book Reveals Ford In JFK Cover Up Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Orlando To Limit Food Truck Operations Posted 5 years 7 months ago
First 4 Steps In Starting A Workout Posted 5 years 7 months ago
"The Room" - Christopher Lee Posted 5 years 7 months ago
East Orlando Moms RUN This Town Posted 5 years 7 months ago
"42" Is More Than A Sports Story Posted 5 years 7 months ago
The Post Reviews "The Purge" Posted 5 years 7 months ago
The Post Reviews "After Earth" Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Got Issues? Maybe You Need A Life Coach Posted 5 years 7 months ago
So How Good Was The Postal Service? Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Tropical Update - Tropical Storm Andrea Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Hurricane Guide #1 - Before The Storm Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Tropical Update #1 - Something To Watch Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Shane's Music Run Down Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Tips For Your Small Business Website Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Our Take: Pioneers Western Kitchen Posted 5 years 7 months ago
The DL On Facebook's "Edgerank" System Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Lessons From My Favorite Neighbor Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Summer Camps 2013 - Gusso Golf Academy Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "Star Trek Into Darkness" Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "Disconnect" Posted 5 years 8 months ago
A Letter From Mom On Love & 2nd Amendment Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Summer Camp Guide 2013 Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "Oblivion" Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Bright Side Of Sunscreen Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Summer Camps 2013 - MBS Training Club Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Weekly Baking Tip - Continuity Is Key Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Killers: Battle Born Tour Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Green Smoothie Craze Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Florida Legislature Must Be Stoned Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "Iron Man 3" Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Eight UCF Players Added To NFL Rosters Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Stone's Rules - Bribe The Maitre D' Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Our Take: Hash House A Go Go Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "42" Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "Hemlock Grove" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Tilt For Distance Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Getting Fit While Being Fat Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Secret To Aging Well Is Not So Secret Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Lenders Loosen Up On Home Loans Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Home Based Businesses Can Work Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews "The ABCs of Death" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Bong Bill Advocates Must Be High Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Local Product Selected In WNBA Draft Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Branding 101 - Repetition is Key Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Chipping Like A Pro Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Potential Bomb Scare On East Colonial BP Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Why Am I Doing This? Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Stone's Rules - Nice Guys In Politics Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Shout Out - All From Scratch Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews "Hannibal" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Massage Is More Than A Spa Treatment Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Our Take: 100 Montaditos Posted 5 years 9 months ago
"Local Power Players" - Fred Leonhardt Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews "Jurassic Park 3D" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Stone's Rules - Dark Dye In Men's Suits Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Fight Against Obesity In Orlando Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews "Evil Dead" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE: EYEING FASHION IN 20/20 Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Champions and the Power of Visualization Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews "The Call" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews G.I. Joe: Retaliation Posted 5 years 9 months ago
In NYC: Decide Our Fate Posted 5 years 10 months ago
The Stone Zone: The Rise Of Rand Posted 5 years 10 months ago
The Bilinda Butchers: Now & Then Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Our Take: Anna's Polish Resturant Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Will Florida Be The Next Marijuana State? Posted 5 years 10 months ago
There Are Women Who Cheat. I Am One Of Them Posted 5 years 10 months ago
TV Preview - Duck Dynasty Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Mental Health Basics For UCF Students Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Free Breakfast, Lunch, & Dinner at Denny's? Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Bithlo Dump Cleanup Within Sight Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Procrastination: Tools To Fight Back Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Our Take: Hot Krust Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Meditating With My Doodle Sam Posted 5 years 10 months ago
I Just Can't Say No Posted 5 years 10 months ago
How To Write A Resume Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Spring Break Jams 2013 Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Distressed Homeowners Able To Buy Again? Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Healthcare Basics For UCF Students Posted 5 years 10 months ago
8 Habits of Remarkably Successful People Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Once Upon A Time... Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Our Take: Burger 21 Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Healthcare & Our Future Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Tax Benefits For Homeowners Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Death Of The Mailbox Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Picking A Puppy: 10 Helpful Tips Posted 5 years 10 months ago
A Mystery Brew Called Stress Posted 5 years 10 months ago
4 Home Security Tips Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Top 10 Reasons I Decided To Become A Vegan Posted 5 years 10 months ago
GLBT Community Center: What You Need To Know Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Successful Goal Setting Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Marketing Is Everywhere Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Downtown Avalon Park Update Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Avalon Yard Sale: Update & Our Picks Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Sandy Adams To Appear on MSNBC's Hardball Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Word is..... Posted 5 years 11 months ago
March Madness, Timber Creek Style Posted 5 years 11 months ago
A New Source Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Instagram: The Removal of Mobile Intimacy Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Hand Sanitizer VS Soap Posted 5 years 11 months ago
INCORPORATION 101: What It Means To Be A City Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Use Mind Tricks to Get Your Way Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Hair Extensions Are a Wise Choice Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Is Now the Time to Buy your Dream House? Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Hypnosis: Parlor Trick or a True Therapy? Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Natural Remedies for Cold & Flu Season Posted 5 years 11 months ago
The Beacham Brings Big City Excitement Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Today’s Private Investigators Posted 5 years 11 months ago
The Post Reviews “House of Cards” Posted 5 years 11 months ago

The Post Reviews "Evil Dead"

 

By Jonatham Kellam

 

Evil Dead (2013)

Directed by Fede Alvarez

Rated R

** out of ****

 

Starring:

Jane Levy as Mia

Shiloh Fernandez as David

Lou Taylor Pucci as Eric

Jessica Lucas as Olivia

 

 

 

Evil Dead is a remake of the 1981 film, The Evil Dead, which produced two sequels and has since attained cult status.  The remake features a group of five twenty-somethings who have gone to a dilapidated cabin in the woods to help Mia, a drug addict, kick her bad habit.  Shortly after arriving, they find some bizarre things in the cellar, including a book that appears to be made from human skin.  Someone decides to read from the book and it turns out that he read a spell that awakens a demonic force intent on possessing and/or murdering all of them.  I hate when that happens.

 

The reason for remaking a movie should be because the original could use improvement, although usually it’s done because studios feel there is more money to be made off a title and too much time has passed for a sequel.  Horror movies have bore the brunt of remakes and those that actually surpass their original in quality are few and far between.  Evil Dead is certainly not one of them.  The original was incredibly cheesy, almost a comedy.  It was the kind of film where it would have been totally appropriate for the main character to suddenly have the ability to build a defibrillator out of a car battery.  When it happens in this film, its completely and utterly ridiculous because the entire film up to that point had been far more serious than the original.

 

A significant part of the success of the original trilogy is due to its hero, Ash, played with tongue firmly in cheek by Bruce Campbell.  None of the characters in this are nearly as entertaining or memorable.  The biggest issue with this movie, however, is that my pulse never got above 85.  This film just isn’t scary.  But it is gory.  I often find that scariness and goriness have an adverse relationship.  Fear in film, for me at least, is created by suspense, not by watching someone get bludgeoned with a poker for five minutes.  The film did have its upsides, though.  I very much appreciated the minimal use of CG.  I also thought all the actors did a fine job.  The tension that existed between some of the characters felt very real.  Also, in an age where young people wouldn’t dare spend a vacation somewhere their smartphones wouldn’t have reception, I thought the concept of staging an intervention was fairly creative.  There are also some subtle references to the original trilogy that fans will enjoy.

 

This is director Fede Alvarez’s first feature-length film.  I think he is potentially very talented, but it’s not easy to tell in a film like this.  He no doubt faced pressure not only from the studio, but also from the fans of the original.  I’d be very interested to see a film of his own creation.  At one point writer Diablo Cody (Juno, Young Adult) was attached to the project for rewrites, however her name does not appear in the end credits so its unlikely any of her rewrites survived, although she is still listed on IMDB.com.  I would have loved to see what she would have done with the story.  She is very good at writing memorable characters and subtle comedy, two things this film badly needed.

 

I’m betting that overall fans of the original trilogy are not going to be impressed with Evil Dead.  Moviegoers unfamiliar with the original may possibly find it as an acceptable way to spend two hours, but their time would be much better spent seeing the re-release of Jurassic Park.

 

 

Top