Monday, January 21, 2019
Breaking News
Win $3,300 On National Cheeseburger Day?! Posted 1 year 4 months ago
Lipstick On A Pig: Everglades SB10 Stinks Posted 1 year 11 months ago
Be Santa To A Senior This Holiday Season Posted 2 years 1 month ago
Septic Is Ruining Our State Posted 2 years 2 months ago
Stardustlounge Is Going Downhill Posted 2 years 3 months ago
Central Florida's Best Political Reporters Posted 2 years 3 months ago
Dropoff Expands Same-Day Delivery To Orlando Posted 2 years 3 months ago
How 9/11 Reshaped My Generation Posted 2 years 4 months ago
LGBT Group Embraces Guns After Orlando Posted 2 years 4 months ago
Hulaween 2016 Lineup: So Good It's Spooky! Posted 2 years 5 months ago
Apartment Living Near Lake Nona Posted 2 years 7 months ago
The Bell Tolls For Teresa Jacobs Posted 4 years 12 months ago
5 Reasons To Buy Fiesta Bowl Tix From UCF Posted 5 years 1 month ago
Con Artist; Mom & Doc Knew Best Posted 5 years 1 month ago
Pantless Pervert Terrorizes UCF Campus Posted 5 years 1 month ago
Sheriff Grady Judd's Dirty Laundry Posted 5 years 1 month ago
Obama Homeless Czar Visits Central Florida Posted 5 years 2 months ago
I <3 Radio? Nope, iHateRadio Posted 5 years 2 months ago
Post Divorce' Soiree Posted 5 years 2 months ago
What's What With What'sit Records Posted 5 years 2 months ago
Grayson Opponent Launches #GGG Moneybomb Posted 5 years 3 months ago
RICK SCOTT INCHES AHEAD Posted 5 years 3 months ago
Local Actress Croix Provence Flourishes Posted 5 years 3 months ago
"Dark Horse" Candidate Enters District 4 Race Posted 5 years 3 months ago
Orlando's Biggest Yard Sale Posted 5 years 3 months ago
Scott Chief Of Staff Approved Gator Hunt Posted 5 years 3 months ago
Stepping Up Your Game Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Giveaway Contest - New Resume, New Career Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Airport Politics - Will Hypocrisy Prevail? Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Event Plug - Avalon Ladies Night Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Life With MS - Dr. Mark Cascione Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Local Focus - Ready INC Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Best Of Orlando 2013.....So Far Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Why I Loved Miley Cyrus's VMA Performance Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Lobby Filing Raises Questions Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Marketing Tips From A 10 Year Old Posted 5 years 5 months ago
What The People Want - Sela Dors Posted 5 years 5 months ago
What's What - Downtown Orlando Fashion Week Posted 5 years 5 months ago
SHOUT OUT - Bimini SuperFast Posted 5 years 5 months ago
Just A Minute, Mr. Morgan Posted 5 years 5 months ago
Lost Sales Leads - 4 Common Problems Posted 5 years 6 months ago
New Book Reveals Ford In JFK Cover Up Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Orlando To Limit Food Truck Operations Posted 5 years 7 months ago
First 4 Steps In Starting A Workout Posted 5 years 7 months ago
"The Room" - Christopher Lee Posted 5 years 7 months ago
East Orlando Moms RUN This Town Posted 5 years 7 months ago
"42" Is More Than A Sports Story Posted 5 years 7 months ago
The Post Reviews "The Purge" Posted 5 years 7 months ago
The Post Reviews "After Earth" Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Got Issues? Maybe You Need A Life Coach Posted 5 years 7 months ago
So How Good Was The Postal Service? Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Tropical Update - Tropical Storm Andrea Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Hurricane Guide #1 - Before The Storm Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Tropical Update #1 - Something To Watch Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Shane's Music Run Down Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Tips For Your Small Business Website Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Our Take: Pioneers Western Kitchen Posted 5 years 7 months ago
The DL On Facebook's "Edgerank" System Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Lessons From My Favorite Neighbor Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Summer Camps 2013 - Gusso Golf Academy Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "Star Trek Into Darkness" Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "Disconnect" Posted 5 years 8 months ago
A Letter From Mom On Love & 2nd Amendment Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Summer Camp Guide 2013 Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "Oblivion" Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Bright Side Of Sunscreen Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Summer Camps 2013 - MBS Training Club Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Weekly Baking Tip - Continuity Is Key Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Killers: Battle Born Tour Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Green Smoothie Craze Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Florida Legislature Must Be Stoned Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "Iron Man 3" Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Eight UCF Players Added To NFL Rosters Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Stone's Rules - Bribe The Maitre D' Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Our Take: Hash House A Go Go Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "42" Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "Hemlock Grove" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Tilt For Distance Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Getting Fit While Being Fat Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Secret To Aging Well Is Not So Secret Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Lenders Loosen Up On Home Loans Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Home Based Businesses Can Work Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews "The ABCs of Death" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Bong Bill Advocates Must Be High Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Local Product Selected In WNBA Draft Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Branding 101 - Repetition is Key Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Chipping Like A Pro Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Potential Bomb Scare On East Colonial BP Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Why Am I Doing This? Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Stone's Rules - Nice Guys In Politics Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Shout Out - All From Scratch Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews "Hannibal" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Massage Is More Than A Spa Treatment Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Our Take: 100 Montaditos Posted 5 years 9 months ago
"Local Power Players" - Fred Leonhardt Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews "Jurassic Park 3D" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Stone's Rules - Dark Dye In Men's Suits Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Fight Against Obesity In Orlando Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews "Evil Dead" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE: EYEING FASHION IN 20/20 Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Champions and the Power of Visualization Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews "The Call" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews G.I. Joe: Retaliation Posted 5 years 9 months ago
In NYC: Decide Our Fate Posted 5 years 10 months ago
The Stone Zone: The Rise Of Rand Posted 5 years 10 months ago
The Bilinda Butchers: Now & Then Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Our Take: Anna's Polish Resturant Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Will Florida Be The Next Marijuana State? Posted 5 years 10 months ago
There Are Women Who Cheat. I Am One Of Them Posted 5 years 10 months ago
TV Preview - Duck Dynasty Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Mental Health Basics For UCF Students Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Free Breakfast, Lunch, & Dinner at Denny's? Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Bithlo Dump Cleanup Within Sight Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Procrastination: Tools To Fight Back Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Our Take: Hot Krust Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Meditating With My Doodle Sam Posted 5 years 10 months ago
I Just Can't Say No Posted 5 years 10 months ago
How To Write A Resume Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Spring Break Jams 2013 Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Distressed Homeowners Able To Buy Again? Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Healthcare Basics For UCF Students Posted 5 years 10 months ago
8 Habits of Remarkably Successful People Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Once Upon A Time... Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Our Take: Burger 21 Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Healthcare & Our Future Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Tax Benefits For Homeowners Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Death Of The Mailbox Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Picking A Puppy: 10 Helpful Tips Posted 5 years 10 months ago
A Mystery Brew Called Stress Posted 5 years 10 months ago
4 Home Security Tips Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Top 10 Reasons I Decided To Become A Vegan Posted 5 years 10 months ago
GLBT Community Center: What You Need To Know Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Successful Goal Setting Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Marketing Is Everywhere Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Downtown Avalon Park Update Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Avalon Yard Sale: Update & Our Picks Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Sandy Adams To Appear on MSNBC's Hardball Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Word is..... Posted 5 years 11 months ago
March Madness, Timber Creek Style Posted 5 years 11 months ago
A New Source Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Instagram: The Removal of Mobile Intimacy Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Hand Sanitizer VS Soap Posted 5 years 11 months ago
INCORPORATION 101: What It Means To Be A City Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Use Mind Tricks to Get Your Way Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Hair Extensions Are a Wise Choice Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Is Now the Time to Buy your Dream House? Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Hypnosis: Parlor Trick or a True Therapy? Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Natural Remedies for Cold & Flu Season Posted 5 years 11 months ago
The Beacham Brings Big City Excitement Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Today’s Private Investigators Posted 5 years 11 months ago
The Post Reviews “House of Cards” Posted 5 years 11 months ago

The Post Reviews "Iron Man 3"

 

By Jonathan Kellam

 

 

Iron Man 3 (2013)

Directed by Shane Black

Rated PG-13

★★★ out of ★★★★

 

Starring:

Robert Downy Jr - Tony Stark/Iron Man

Gwyneth Paltrow - Pepper Potts

Ben Kingsley  - The Mandarin

Don Cheadle  - James Rhodes/War Machine

Guy Pearce -  Aldrich Killian

Rebecca Hall  - Maya Hansen

 

 

 

For the fourth time (counting The Avengers) in just five years we are whisked away on an adventure with Tony Stark in Iron Man 3.  This time around, Stark is targeted by an international terrorist known as the Mandarin, impeccably played by Sir Ben Kingsley.  After the Mandarin’s forces threaten the lives of those he cares about and destroy his home, Stark goes on a quest for revenge that will not only bring him face-to-face with the Mandarin, but with his own personal demons.

 

 

 

In short, Iron Man 3 is pretty good…but not great.  I loved the change of pace from the previous entries in the Marvel series.  While there is plenty of action, Stark probably spends less than 20 minutes of screen time actually in the Iron Man suit.  Instead of just being able to blast his way through everything, certain circumstances require him to resort to more creative methods.  The movie has a lot going for it: the story has plenty of twists and turns, the visual effects are great and despite a slightly crowded cast, the acting is top-notch.  My biggest complaint is actually with the dialogue.  There is no question that Iron Man propelled Robert Downey Jr. back into stardom and that was because he was perfect in the role of Tony Stark.  However, in this iteration, his character started to wear on me a little.  There’s a lot of serious stuff happening in this movie; a few serious lines of dialogue would have been nice.  The film badly needed a break from Stark’s endless quips and sarcasm.  Also, most of the scenes featuring Happy Hogan, Stark’s former bodyguard, were like something out of a bad sitcom.  Overall, the movie just had too much comic relief…or attempts at comic relief.  Also, a small subplot dealing with Stark’s anxiety issues following the events of The Avengers should have been cut or better developed.

 

 

 

Despite my complaints with the dialogue, Robert Downey Jr. once again proves that this was a role he was born to play.  I believe he is not only the anchor for the Iron Man series, but for the Marvel films in general.  I highly suggest Marvel Studios pays him whatever he wants to keep him on board and considering his paycheck for The Avengers was $50,000,000, it looks like they are doing exactly that.  It was nice to see Gwyneth Paltrow’s role as Pepper Potts finally get some meat on the bones.  She is not only given increased screen time from the previous entries, but she is even involved in a few action sequences.  Ben Kingsley steals the show as the Mandarin, but when is he not amazing?  He is undeniably one of the greatest actors of our time.  Oh, and if you’re ever looking for the perfect actor to play a smarmy, shadowy think tank manager, Guy Pearce is your guy.  Props also should go to Don Cheadle and Rebecca Hall, although their roles were fairly small.

 

 

 

Audiences who enjoyed the previous Iron Man films and The Avengers will probably enjoy Iron Man 3, but I think most would agree with me that it is not the best in the series.  I don’t want to see the Marvel movies go anywhere near as dark and gritty as Christopher Nolan’s Dark Knight trilogy, but I do feel like they are slowly starting to become just a little too silly and cartoony.  This is a dangerous path.  If you don’t believe me watch the older Batman series that culminated in the abominable Batman & Robin.  Hopefully, I’m mistaken and we will have many more superhero films as enjoyable as this for years to come.

 

 

Trivia:

 

  • There is a scene after the credits featuring another alumnus of the Avengers
  • Jessica Chastain was originally cast as Maya Hansen, but had to drop out due to scheduling conflicts
  • Iron Man creator Stan Lee has a cameo as a beauty pageant judge

 

 

Top