Monday, January 21, 2019
Breaking News
Win $3,300 On National Cheeseburger Day?! Posted 1 year 4 months ago
Lipstick On A Pig: Everglades SB10 Stinks Posted 1 year 11 months ago
Be Santa To A Senior This Holiday Season Posted 2 years 1 month ago
Septic Is Ruining Our State Posted 2 years 2 months ago
Stardustlounge Is Going Downhill Posted 2 years 3 months ago
Central Florida's Best Political Reporters Posted 2 years 3 months ago
Dropoff Expands Same-Day Delivery To Orlando Posted 2 years 3 months ago
How 9/11 Reshaped My Generation Posted 2 years 4 months ago
LGBT Group Embraces Guns After Orlando Posted 2 years 4 months ago
Hulaween 2016 Lineup: So Good It's Spooky! Posted 2 years 5 months ago
Apartment Living Near Lake Nona Posted 2 years 7 months ago
The Bell Tolls For Teresa Jacobs Posted 4 years 12 months ago
5 Reasons To Buy Fiesta Bowl Tix From UCF Posted 5 years 1 month ago
Con Artist; Mom & Doc Knew Best Posted 5 years 1 month ago
Pantless Pervert Terrorizes UCF Campus Posted 5 years 1 month ago
Sheriff Grady Judd's Dirty Laundry Posted 5 years 1 month ago
Obama Homeless Czar Visits Central Florida Posted 5 years 2 months ago
I <3 Radio? Nope, iHateRadio Posted 5 years 2 months ago
Post Divorce' Soiree Posted 5 years 2 months ago
What's What With What'sit Records Posted 5 years 2 months ago
Grayson Opponent Launches #GGG Moneybomb Posted 5 years 3 months ago
RICK SCOTT INCHES AHEAD Posted 5 years 3 months ago
Local Actress Croix Provence Flourishes Posted 5 years 3 months ago
"Dark Horse" Candidate Enters District 4 Race Posted 5 years 3 months ago
Orlando's Biggest Yard Sale Posted 5 years 3 months ago
Scott Chief Of Staff Approved Gator Hunt Posted 5 years 3 months ago
Stepping Up Your Game Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Giveaway Contest - New Resume, New Career Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Airport Politics - Will Hypocrisy Prevail? Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Event Plug - Avalon Ladies Night Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Life With MS - Dr. Mark Cascione Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Local Focus - Ready INC Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Best Of Orlando 2013.....So Far Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Why I Loved Miley Cyrus's VMA Performance Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Lobby Filing Raises Questions Posted 5 years 4 months ago
Marketing Tips From A 10 Year Old Posted 5 years 5 months ago
What The People Want - Sela Dors Posted 5 years 5 months ago
What's What - Downtown Orlando Fashion Week Posted 5 years 5 months ago
SHOUT OUT - Bimini SuperFast Posted 5 years 5 months ago
Just A Minute, Mr. Morgan Posted 5 years 5 months ago
Lost Sales Leads - 4 Common Problems Posted 5 years 6 months ago
New Book Reveals Ford In JFK Cover Up Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Orlando To Limit Food Truck Operations Posted 5 years 7 months ago
First 4 Steps In Starting A Workout Posted 5 years 7 months ago
"The Room" - Christopher Lee Posted 5 years 7 months ago
East Orlando Moms RUN This Town Posted 5 years 7 months ago
"42" Is More Than A Sports Story Posted 5 years 7 months ago
The Post Reviews "The Purge" Posted 5 years 7 months ago
The Post Reviews "After Earth" Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Got Issues? Maybe You Need A Life Coach Posted 5 years 7 months ago
So How Good Was The Postal Service? Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Tropical Update - Tropical Storm Andrea Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Hurricane Guide #1 - Before The Storm Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Tropical Update #1 - Something To Watch Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Shane's Music Run Down Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Tips For Your Small Business Website Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Our Take: Pioneers Western Kitchen Posted 5 years 7 months ago
The DL On Facebook's "Edgerank" System Posted 5 years 7 months ago
Lessons From My Favorite Neighbor Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Summer Camps 2013 - Gusso Golf Academy Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "Star Trek Into Darkness" Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "Disconnect" Posted 5 years 8 months ago
A Letter From Mom On Love & 2nd Amendment Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Summer Camp Guide 2013 Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "Oblivion" Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Bright Side Of Sunscreen Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Summer Camps 2013 - MBS Training Club Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Weekly Baking Tip - Continuity Is Key Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Killers: Battle Born Tour Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Green Smoothie Craze Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Florida Legislature Must Be Stoned Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "Iron Man 3" Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Eight UCF Players Added To NFL Rosters Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Stone's Rules - Bribe The Maitre D' Posted 5 years 8 months ago
Our Take: Hash House A Go Go Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "42" Posted 5 years 8 months ago
The Post Reviews "Hemlock Grove" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Tilt For Distance Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Getting Fit While Being Fat Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Secret To Aging Well Is Not So Secret Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Lenders Loosen Up On Home Loans Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Home Based Businesses Can Work Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews "The ABCs of Death" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Bong Bill Advocates Must Be High Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Local Product Selected In WNBA Draft Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Branding 101 - Repetition is Key Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Chipping Like A Pro Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Potential Bomb Scare On East Colonial BP Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Why Am I Doing This? Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Stone's Rules - Nice Guys In Politics Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Shout Out - All From Scratch Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews "Hannibal" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Massage Is More Than A Spa Treatment Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Our Take: 100 Montaditos Posted 5 years 9 months ago
"Local Power Players" - Fred Leonhardt Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews "Jurassic Park 3D" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Stone's Rules - Dark Dye In Men's Suits Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Fight Against Obesity In Orlando Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews "Evil Dead" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE: EYEING FASHION IN 20/20 Posted 5 years 9 months ago
Champions and the Power of Visualization Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews "The Call" Posted 5 years 9 months ago
The Post Reviews G.I. Joe: Retaliation Posted 5 years 9 months ago
In NYC: Decide Our Fate Posted 5 years 10 months ago
The Stone Zone: The Rise Of Rand Posted 5 years 10 months ago
The Bilinda Butchers: Now & Then Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Our Take: Anna's Polish Resturant Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Will Florida Be The Next Marijuana State? Posted 5 years 10 months ago
There Are Women Who Cheat. I Am One Of Them Posted 5 years 10 months ago
TV Preview - Duck Dynasty Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Mental Health Basics For UCF Students Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Free Breakfast, Lunch, & Dinner at Denny's? Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Bithlo Dump Cleanup Within Sight Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Procrastination: Tools To Fight Back Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Our Take: Hot Krust Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Meditating With My Doodle Sam Posted 5 years 10 months ago
I Just Can't Say No Posted 5 years 10 months ago
How To Write A Resume Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Spring Break Jams 2013 Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Distressed Homeowners Able To Buy Again? Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Healthcare Basics For UCF Students Posted 5 years 10 months ago
8 Habits of Remarkably Successful People Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Once Upon A Time... Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Our Take: Burger 21 Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Healthcare & Our Future Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Tax Benefits For Homeowners Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Death Of The Mailbox Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Picking A Puppy: 10 Helpful Tips Posted 5 years 10 months ago
A Mystery Brew Called Stress Posted 5 years 10 months ago
4 Home Security Tips Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Top 10 Reasons I Decided To Become A Vegan Posted 5 years 10 months ago
GLBT Community Center: What You Need To Know Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Successful Goal Setting Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Marketing Is Everywhere Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Downtown Avalon Park Update Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Avalon Yard Sale: Update & Our Picks Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Sandy Adams To Appear on MSNBC's Hardball Posted 5 years 10 months ago
Word is..... Posted 5 years 11 months ago
March Madness, Timber Creek Style Posted 5 years 11 months ago
A New Source Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Instagram: The Removal of Mobile Intimacy Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Hand Sanitizer VS Soap Posted 5 years 11 months ago
INCORPORATION 101: What It Means To Be A City Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Use Mind Tricks to Get Your Way Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Hair Extensions Are a Wise Choice Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Is Now the Time to Buy your Dream House? Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Hypnosis: Parlor Trick or a True Therapy? Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Natural Remedies for Cold & Flu Season Posted 5 years 11 months ago
The Beacham Brings Big City Excitement Posted 5 years 11 months ago
Today’s Private Investigators Posted 5 years 11 months ago
The Post Reviews “House of Cards” Posted 5 years 11 months ago

The Post Reviews "Oblivion"

 

By Jonathan Kellam

 

Oblivion (2013)

Directed by Joseph Kosinski

Rated PG-13

★★★½ out of ★★★★

 

Starring:

Tom Cruise - Jack

Andrea Riseborough - Victoria

Olga Kurylenko - Julia

Morgan Freeman - Malcolm

Melissa Leo - Sally

 

 

When I saw the trailer for Oblivion I was not overly impressed.  It looked like just another big budget Tom Cruise movie ridden with CG to cover for its lack of substance.  I couldn’t have been more wrong.  Oblivion is an alluring and graceful sci-fi adventure that has clearly taken notes from some of the best films in the genre.  It begins with another routine day in the lives of Jack and Victoria, who are partners professionally and romantically.  They are among the last humans on Earth.  The destruction of the moon and a subsequent invasion by an alien race has decimated the planet and humanity is relocating to Titan, a habitable moon of Saturn.  Several rigs have been built to harvest seawater for transport to Titan and it is Jack and Victoria’s job to make sure that these rigs are not endangered by Scavs, remnants of the alien forces.  They receive their daily orders from a pleasant woman named Sally who is stationed on a vessel called the Tet, which is located just outside of Earth’s atmosphere.  They have just two weeks to go before they are replaced and transported to Titan themselves when Jack makes a discovery that changes everything.

 

 

This is the best sci-fi movie I’ve seen since Danny Boyle’s underappreciated masterpiece, Sunshine.  Oblivion is a beautiful film with stunning cinematography, stylish set decoration, and a haunting and elegant original score.  Some have complained that the story is not original enough, but, well, it is.  Sure, there are some elements in it that have also been in other movies, but why is it that some movies are held to this standard of having to be completely original and others are not?  Iron Man and Batman Begins are both about a rich guy who becomes a superhero that relies on technology and gadgets as opposed to superpowers and I didn’t hear any complaints then.  The acting is superb and this is coming from a guy who is far from Tom Cruise’s biggest fan, although I do think his role should have gone to someone younger.  As a fan of the sci-fi genre, I can tell that a lot of love and care went into this film.  It was not a just a mindless sci-fi “blow ‘em up” type like one of the Transformers sequel.  Also, the drones that wander the wasteland hunting for Scavs are possibly the most sinister machines to grace the screen since HAL 9000, so props to the production team for that creation.

 

 

The only other directing credit to Joseph Kosinski’s name is TRON: Legacy, another above average sci-fi epic.  When sci-fi has devolved into the likes of John Carter and Transformers: Dark of the Moon, we’re going to need a director like him to continue making respectable films in this genre.  He’s currently in talks to direct another TRON sequel.

 

 

I understand the appeal of Tom Cruise.  He’s consistent, he’s handsome, he’s bankable, but…he’s just not among my favorites.  Far from it.  It’s not that I think he’s a bad actor, I just rarely see him in a movie and can’t immediately think of someone who could have done a better job in the role.  Also, being 50 years old (although he could pass for 35), I just thought he was too old for this role.  This character had a curiosity, naiveté, and even an innocence to him that I think would have been much more appropriate in someone under 35.  Andrea Riseborough is terrific as his caring, but somewhat distant, partner.  You get the feeling that neither of them completely understands or even trusts each other, but they do care about each other.  Cruise and Riseborough do a great job in acting out the dynamics of this relationship.  Olga Kurylenko hits all the right notes as a mysterious astronaut named Julia.  I’m hoping to see much more of her in the future.  Morgan Freeman is amazing as always, but I’d be shocked if altogether he had more than 10 minutes of screen time.  Melissa Leo also has restricted screen time but she chews the scenery every chance she gets as the eerily chirpy Sally.

 

 

If you enjoy the sci-fi genre, big budget action movies, or are just a huge Tom Cruise fan, please go see Oblivion despite its lukewarm critical reception.  I just don’t think some of these critics were entirely fair.  It’s the most fun I’ve had at the movies all year.

 

 

Top